Sunshine Coast Teachers’ Blogs

At the public Board of Education meeting on Tuesday night (Sept. 13-for those of you who missed it) Pender Harbour Secondary principal Mark Heidebrecht gave the Board and audience a brief but informative overview on the use of technology by educators on the Sunshine Coast.

I was very impressed by the innovative use of technology by SD46 staff, and particularly surprised by the number of teachers using blogs to further communicate with children and families. I was only aware of a handful of educator blogs last year, but it seems more and more local educators are embracing technology to compliment their daily hard work in classrooms.

I would wager that most kids know which teachers have blogs, but I know that some parents aren’t yet aware that some of their children’s lesson plans, assignments, and resources are available on-line anytime!

I was interested in finding out how many educators are using these tools, and thought I might as well share the results while I’m at it. So, here is what I’ve found so far–I’m sure there are more. SD46 has a great new website and school websites are currently being updated to, so some teacher’s sites may not be up yet.

Please let me know what I’ve missed and I’ll update the list:

Langdale Elementary:

Gibsons Elementary:

Principal’s Blog

Mr. Sullivan’s Blog

Mrs. Sullivan’s Blog

Mrs. Kopeck’s Blog

Mrs. Sali’s Blog From Down Under

Ms. Taylor’s Blog

FastForward Blog

Halfmoon Bay Elementary:

Mr. Descharnais’ class website (I couldn’t access this site-I’ll check that out)

Pender Harbour Secondary:

Mr H: PHSS Principals’s Blog

Mr Lewis’ Blog

Mr. Marshall’s Blog

Ms. MacInnes’ Blog

Miss Mullins’ Blog

Elphinstone Secondary:

Stokowski Room 213

Mr. Beyser’s page

Ms. Keller’s Blog

Mr. MacPherson’s site

Ms. Liddicoat’s Page

Mrs. Mearns Page

Mrs. Beyser’s Webpage

Ms. Douglas’ Blog

Mr. Goerzen’s Site

Chatelech Secondary:

Mr. Mani’s Yearbook Page

Ms. Laite’s Science Links

Mr. Tiechrob’s Science and Math Site

Chat Spanish 10, 11, 12

4 Comments

Filed under Education, Sunshine Coast Board of Education, Sunshine Coast News and Politics, Sunshine Coast School Board

4 responses to “Sunshine Coast Teachers’ Blogs

  1. Willian Tichi

    The next time I learn a blog, I hope that it doesnt disappoint me as a lot as this one. I imply, I know it was my option to read, however I really thought youd have something fascinating to say. All I hear is a bunch of whining about something that you may repair if you happen to werent too busy searching for attention.

  2. Anonymous

    It is awesome to find out how much technology is being used in the district. Don’t we also have an e-learning programme too?

Leave a Reply

