Road Rage comes to the Sunshine Coast

With the petition to return Gibsons way back to normal now at 600, one wonders whether there will soon be some alleviation to the big city traffic jams and angry drivers we’ve been experiencing.

http://www.coastreporter.net/article/20090717/SECHELT0101/307179971/petition-now-has-600-names

I haven’t actually signed the petition yet (it’s funny that you have to go to St. Bart’s to sign it–the place that is now about as accessible as String Theory–oh the irony) but I probably will. It’s definitely an inconvenience, but worse, I don’t see any positive side to it. Nor have I heard any clear reasons given for the change. There’s been some vague talk about safety, but I don’t see how it’s more safe. I guess ultimately it will keep people from coming here, big city people (we all know big city people with their big city ways = danger.) It will also take longer for the police to get to the mall, so I guess the bears will be safer, but I have to assume that wasn’t the main reasoning

It was good to get people working in these tough times, I guess. And it will be good to have them working again to return things back to normal.

To be honest, I never paid much attention to the idea when it was first being discussed. I thought the whole thing was a prank someone dreamed up. I mean, when I heard “they” were thinking about changing our beloved four lanes into two, after a significant population increase, I laughed. I laughed and laughed until I almost plowed into someone merging onto Gibsons Way from North Road (sorry late thirties red haired guy with the mustache driving the rusted out Datsun pick up. Call me.)

Actually crawled. As in, I almost crawled into someone merging onto Gibsons Way. Because I was going about two kms an hour. I guess I should have been checking out the new signage instead of late thirties red haired guy.

You see I was guilty of the “It’ll never happen to me” syndrome I was warned about so many times as a kid. If only I had listened! I would have written a sternly worded letter to someone and we wouldn’t be in this mess today. But I think our community suffered from the “It’ll never happen to Gibsons Way” syndrome, until it was too late. Or is it?

 So, unless someone can tell me how this is better, I will go and sign the petition. Can I mail it in?

Kudos to Reverend Peter and the good folks at St. Bartholomew’s for taking this on.

8 Comments

Filed under Sunshine Coast News and Politics

8 responses to “Road Rage comes to the Sunshine Coast

  1. Harold

    Word has it that Gordon & Nancy Campbell are selling their home in Halfmoon Bay.

    I wonder why?

    • Jason Scott

      Gordo and Nan-Nan are coming over to play “Rock Band” this Thursday at 6:30. I’ll ask.

      We’ve just about nailed Rush’s “Tom Sawyer” on expert level (actually Nan-Nan can’t get the drum solo and it’s bringing us down).

      Things might get a little wild.

  2. Arnold

    Gibsons used to have a bowling alley on Gibsons Way, and a bowling alley in the IGA mall.

    In 2009, there are no longer any bowling alleys in Gibsons.

    I don’t know why, but I hear it has something to do with the Department of Highways.

    This is an outrage. Bring back 4 lanes!

  3. Is the Gordon & Nancy house sold?

  4. Jason Scott

    You’re right, it reads a little snarky. It was supposed to be funny.

    I just don’t know.

    Great blog by the way.

    And I didn’t take poor Harold seriously. I’ll reply to him.

Leave a Reply

