Three halves of ruined life

Ferguson
Ferguson

Ok, so I haven’t posted for awhile. I shamelessly blame my new son, Fergus, who is now three months old!  All and all this go around has been less maddening than the first time, but any spare time I’ve had I’ve spent with my growing family. Or sleeping. Or sitting in the dark rocking and humming lullabies. By myself.

We received a joke card with a quote something like, “The first half of your life is ruined by your parents, the second by your children.” Kind of funny, though not true–there’s also that half of your life you ruin yourself. So, that’s like three halves of ruined life, but who’s counting?
The Trustee duties have been steadily increasing as well, as we get closer to the end of the school year. We’ve been going through the budget process, which has been an illuminating experience. It has been my first real taste of the ire and loathing of the public. I joke, of course, but it’s good to remember that the budget is more than a stack of paper–it’s people’s livelihood and our children’s education–and I truly thank people for their input on the process. I can honestly say that this input will help guide the Board in making the decisions that need to be made.
So far, so good. I am really enjoying representing you all on the Board of Education. We have a great district full of amazing people, and a lot to be proud of as a community.
Let me know what you’d like to see in the next couple of years.
2 Comments

Filed under Random, yet deep, thoughts, Sunshine Coast Board of Education

2 responses to “Three halves of ruined life

  1. Ronald

    What a great blog. I and hundreds of others, I’m sure, read it all the time. My only complaint is you don’t post enough. What’s going on?

Leave a Reply

